Announcing the 2023 Educators of the Year

  • Congratulations to four outstanding Snoqualmie Valley educators who were named the 2023 Educators of the Year by the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation:

    • Doron Jones, Mount Si maintenance/stadium worker, is the Classified Educator of the Year.
    • Jeffie Ritchie, STREAM teacher at SES, is the Elementary Educator of the Year.
    • Mindy Mohney, SMS math teacher, is the Middle School Educator of the Year.
    • Tina Mix, MSHS ceramics teacher, is the High School Educator of the Year.


    On March 2, Schools Foundation Board members made surprise visits during the school day to announce these special award winners and celebrate with their classes and peers. See below for “Surprise!” photos.


    The Foundation’s Educator of the Year awards program celebrates outstanding educators in the Snoqualmie Valley School District who: inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn, have earned respect, lead by example, and play an active role in creating a positive school environment. Educators are nominated by parents, students, fellow staff members, and community members. Then the Schools Foundation’s Selection Committee, comprised of local business and community leaders, carefully reviews all nominations to determine who will receive the awards.


    Mark your calendar:  The 2023 Educators of the Year will be guests of honor at the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation’s “Small Hands to Big Plans” Spring Fundraising event. This year’s in-person event is Wednesday, April 5, at Mount Si’s Performing Arts Center. (Check-in at 10:30 a.m. Program starts 11 a.m. Networking and light lunch to follow.) Learn about Foundation-funded programs, honor these special educators, and enjoy a luncheon provided by the high school’s Culinary Arts students. This is the Foundation’s most significant fundraising event that brings together caring community members and businesses to raise funds for innovative classroom grants and district-wide initiatives that benefit all Snoqualmie Valley students.  


    Please register here for the SVSF luncheon or make a donation.


    SVSF logo


    Congratulations 2023 Educators of the Year!


    Doron Jones, MSHS Maintenance/Stadium

    Doron Jones 1

    DJ 2




    Jeffie Ritchie, Snoqualmie Elementary STREAM 

    Jeffie Ritchie 1

    JR 2

    JR 3

    JR 4


    Mindy Mohney, Snoqualmie Middle School Math

    Mindy Mohney 1

    MM 2

    MM 3



    Tina Mix, Mount Si High School Ceramics

    Tina Mix 1

    TM 2

    TM 3