Return to Headlines

Announcing the 2018 Educators of the Year!


Congratulations to four devoted Snoqualmie Valley educators who were named the 2018 Educators of the Year by the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation. On March 1, an entourage of Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation Board members — armed with flowers, balloons and cupcakes — made surprise visits during school to announce these special awards.


This year’s Educators of the Year include:

  • Betty Hamilton, Fall City Elementary School’s head custodian, was named the 2018 Classified Educator of the Year.
  • Nate Ziemkowski, who teaches a 2nd grade STREAM (gifted) class at Snoqualmie Elementary School, was selected as the 2018 Elementary School Educator of the Year.
  • Jared Burrow, who teaches 8th grade Social Studies at Twin Falls Middle School, was chosen as the 2018 Middle School Educator of the Year.
  • Jennifer Holloway, History teacher at Mount Si High School, was named the 2018 High School Educator of the Year.

This awards program celebrates outstanding educators in the Snoqualmie Valley School District each year who:  inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn, have earned respect, lead by example, and play an active role in creating a positive scholastic environment. Educators are nominated for this honor by parents, students, fellow staff and community members. The Schools Foundation’s Selection Committee is comprised of local business and community leaders, who carefully reviews all nominations to determine who will receive this prestigious honor.


The 2018 Educators of the Year will be guests of honor, along with their families, at the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation’s Annual Spring Fundraising Luncheon on March 22, at The Club at Snoqualmie Ridge. The luncheon is the Foundation’s most significant annual event that brings together caring community members and businesses to help raise funds that directly support innovative classroom grants and district-wide initiatives that benefit all Snoqualmie Valley students and schools.


To RSVP for the luncheon or to make a donation online, please visit the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation website:


Enjoy snapshots below of when the educators first learned of this exciting recognition from the Snoqualmie Valley Schools Foundation.


 Classified Educator of the Year - Betty Hamilton

Betty 1 Betty 2
Betty 3 Betty 4


Elementary School Educator of the Year - Nate Ziemkowski

Nate 1 Nate 2
Nate 3 Nate 4


Middle School Educator of the Year - Jared Burrow

Jared 1 Jared 2
Jared 3 Jared 3


High School Educator of the Year - Jennifer Holloway

Holloway 1 Holloway 2
Holloway 3 Holloway 4